Enforced rest weekend :(

I had a lot planned this weekend. I’d signed up to do the Write this Run blogging workshop on Saturday, and Sunday was to be the 1st Summer league race for my running club I’ve been able to make so far.

But disaster struck on Friday, when I awoke to the most swollen facial glands I have ever seen!
Over 6 hours in A & E later and diagnosed with Parotitis, which is a blockage of the saliva glands.
Whilst I feel absolutely fine in myself, my face is massive and very painful to touch. Visualise the images from fat booth app and that’s what my face looks like!
2 days later and the antibiotics should be kicking in and it’s actually bigger!
I was still considering running this morning, but probably not the best idea, plus I might scare the kids.

I’m not sure what’s worse having a running related injury stopping training or just a fat face. I’m going for the latter, as surely it’s just nature being mean!

On the positive side I have been doing a lot of research into our Big Sur Marathon trip next April and managed to find some lovely, cheap accomodation on AirBnB. Still excited!!

Leave a Reply

